Day 3 // 365 Days of Gratitude

Today I am grateful for the roof over my head.

Given the life I’m able to lead, there is so much I take for granted – clean drinking water, washing machines, access to all sorts of fruits and vegetables, a bed, meals prepared for me. I’m having trouble listing these things even though I know there’s so much. It’s not to say that I should give up these things because some people in the world don’t have the same access. I am more about appreciating and then finding ways to distribute resources and power.


 

This morning, I got up at around 7:30 to go to where I went to high school. The kids from the orphanage I worked with throughout high school came to our school for a visit, which they usually do once a month. It’s been two years since I last saw them! I grew to know the kids fairly well, so it was really heart-warming to see them again. I was happy to see they got taller!

I haven’t been back to school because the place reminds me too much of my depressing high school years. There’s too much anxiety whirling around when I walk through the gates, so I choose not to go if I can. Today was different because I wanted to see the kids and since my brother was going, I decided to tag along. Luckily, I didn’t have to do too many of the ‘How is college?’ ‘What’re you doing back?’ exchanges since very few people knew me. Man, it’s been a while since I went to school there. Only two years, but people move in and out fast there. I got to do my own thing and just really focus on the kids, which was nice.

After I came home, I plopped onto my bed and napped for over an hour. Usually, I struggle to nap during the day. But I guess I was especially tired today. After my nap, I uploaded a video to my YouTube channel and continued doing stuff on my computer until dinner time.

Ready for an early bedtime.

 

Author: claireishuman

a young adult living between hong kong, beijing, london and boston

1 thought on “Day 3 // 365 Days of Gratitude”

Leave a Reply

