Day 14 // 365 Days of Gratitude

Today I am grateful for books. I love the feeling of getting swept up into a book. For a few hours, I tune out the rest of the world and enter an alternate world of the characters. When I read a book, I still feel somewhat mindful of my surroundings, but when I’m looking at a screen, I feel completely sucked in and I don’t particularly like that.

I do like reading. I just don’t read as much as I’d like. Honestly, the biggest thing in my way is my darn electronics… Something about this internet thing is really addictive. Today I didn’t even touch my laptop until evening time, largely because I was so into the book I’m reading – The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao. I started the book like over a month ago and, up until today, have made very little progress on it. I didn’t look at my phone many times either, not that I’m constantly on my phone in first place.

Today was a lovely reminder that there are other ways to occupy time other than scrolling through the internet.

Author: claireishuman

a young adult living between hong kong, beijing, london and boston

Leave a Reply

